amateur photographer wanting more professional photos

sabenemmons

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am a amateur photographer and i would like to step up the quality of my photos. I already have a pretty good camera (canon rebel ti) but i was wanting to know what kind of film to use (b+w, color) and where to get it processed. I want to start doing some portraits and want a place to process it that will do 8x10 and wallet size but keep them at studio quaility.
any help would be great.

Fil choice is largely personal although you can get films balanced for portraits. For finer grain remember to use a lower asa film and use a tripod wherever possible.

remeber one thing: the camera itself HAS NO EFFECT ON IMAGE QUALITY WHATSOEVER. This might sound absurd but its true. Image quality=Lens+Film+Lighting

let me add something to that Sasha, In order of importance.

1. Photographers vision relized
2. Photography skills

These two are the most important for any photograph

3. Lighting
4. Lens
5. film

New film, new camera, new lens won't help as much as shooting more, reading more, looking more.

Practise,practise,practise....and be critical of your own photos...more so then your friends and family ever will be

i can't agree more with whats already been posted. i am in the same position. i have been photogrpahing for about 2.5 years now and go through film like water in the desert! that reminds me, i have about 15 rolls that need developing :(

if you're looking to do colour portraits, fuji NPS 160iso is one of the best print films available for portrait. the vast majority of wedding photographers use it.

try using color slides, they hav realli fine grain n e colors can b beautiful...also i dunno if its just me but using a slow shutter speed with small aperture seems 2 give more saturated colors :D