Amateur Photographers - Why Do We Do It ...... Really

I got into photography, originally film, because I grew up in a pretty artistic family and was the only one among my siblings who could not draw, paint or sculpt. I was good at technology though, so photography seemed a natural way to create something. I have been working at it, on and off, for about 50 years, having made the transition to digital in 1999. I do it because I enjoy creating something, want a constant challenge to improve, love the technical side, and find it relaxing and enjoyable to do.

I buy new gear not because it is new, but to help overcome some technical challenge or to expand my available choices when taking a photograph.

I don't expect to create anything that will outlive me, I expect someone will cancel my cloud accounts and reformat my harddrives after I am dead and my work will vanish much as I will. But I do this for me, for my pleasure, not because I think I have some vision or talent to share with the world. I avoid social media outside of a few photo forums, and seldom post things online. It comes down to doing something fun that lets me continue to compete with myself.

Hmm I definitely dont use anything as often as my latest and greatest.

Granted, its a Nikon D750. Its not actually recent.

My photos will live on ... on other peoples harddrives, and on some websites.

I suspect by now most readers have discovered the answer to the OP's question is "because...". The remainder of the sentence is as individual as the person stating it. It has been a very interesting thread.

I thought this quote from Agatha Christie was quite a good answer.
EFA19DB1-596B-4AD8-A152-E738A8142AA6.jpeg

For the Professionals it's a job, and probably a passion too, but I'm curious about what motivates the rest of us?