Any Advice on Cleaning my Camera?

linpelk

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was wondering if anyone has a good link to something that tells me how I should be cleaning my camera/lenses (or advice). I've just been using the little brush with the bulb on the end and the lens tissues with whatever fluid that comes in the "kit". Is it good/bad to use those bottles of compressed air to get into the little crevices on the camera body/lens? I have had my camera at the beach on more than a few occasions and I have a slight gritty sound in one of my focus rings on my lens (I'm a total newbie and don't know what they are called so I'm calling it a focus ring...I'm sure you know what I mean). Is there a way to remedy that? Thanks for any advice.

Okay, first of all, throw out that blower bulb with the brush. Those are bad, bad, BAD! Why? Because most of them draw the air in through the tube, and the brush serves to trap bits of dust and dirt, and redistribute them where you most don't want it. Spend a few dollars and pick up a Giottos Rocket. It alone probably costs more than the cleaning kit you just bought, but trust me, it's worth it. Never, EVER, under any circumstances use canned air/gas of any sort. 1) Because the gas is not 'clean', that is there can often be minute traces of oil in it, which will do all sorts of nasty things to the inner workings of your camera, especially your sensor, and 2) because there are some parts, especially in the mirror chamber that can be damaged by either the pressure of the discharging gas, or by the fact that if you hold the nozzle too close, what you will actually get out is liquid. Only use lens-cleaning fluid as a last resort, and only then if it's good-quality fluid purchased from a reputable camera store (Don't buy a big box store camera cleaning kit), also get a good-quality cleaning brush. This is a good basic cleaning kit.