Any general tips on fireworks?

libeco

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.libeco.nl
Hi all,

New years eve will bring loads of fireworks (I heard on the radio €70 million will be spent on legal fireworks for that one night here in Holland) and I want to take some pictures.

Are there any general tips on photographing fireworks? I've been searching around and already figured out a tripod just has to be used.

But I wonder if it's better to shoot RAW or jpeg? I want to be able to do some post processing (don't really like that word since I'm only a beginner) but the amount of time it takes the RAW file to be written to memory card is much higher than JPEG, so is it worth it?

And what about focus, is it better to change during shots, or is it better to just focus once and fire away and see what the results are later?

Thanks!

It's usually best to shoot in RAW. Hopefully your camera won't bog down too much...you shouldn't have to keep shooting continuously.

Some cameras have built-in noise reduction for longer exposures...which would be good for fireworks...but that does take time...so if you have that, turn it off, if you can. With some cameras, you can't turn it off.

Yes, a tripod is a very, very good idea.

As for focus...the fireworks will probably be up in the sky...which should be at infinity focus for your camera...so focus once and leave it there.

Usually a longer shutter speed is good for fireworks...because then you gen see all the trails and such. You can even record more than one burst. But you don't want to overexpose the bright parts too much...so you may have to experiment a bit.

70 MILLION in fireworks??? :shock:

i need to go to Holland! there will be a fireworks show where i live too, but the cost will be nowhere near 70,000,000 (unless its in pesos :lol: ).