any opinions on Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens?

Wonderful lens optically - just read the reviews. People complain that it's prone to breakage, but I've been using mine for three years with no problem. However, I don't tend to break things, so if you do, this might be a consideration.

Its a nice little lens, and for the price everyone should have one.

a 50 mm lens should be in every SLR/DSLR users camera bag, nuff said.

I used to own that lens. Best bang for the bucks.

Pros:
- Low cost
- Light weight
- Wide aperture
- Relatively small filter (52mm) size (in general, larger diameter of the screw-in filter = higher cost)
- Your 40D center AF point works faster with wide aperture lens such as this one.
- Sharp. Not the best lens on the market nor in the 50mm category, but it's optical performance is really not bad at all. (especially stop down to around f/5.6)
- Small. Do not take up much room in your bag.

Cons:
- Very plastic feel.
- It doesn't feel very solid. But it doesn't mean it will fall apart soon. There is a youtube video showing someone try to break the lens with hammer.
- Plastic lens mount. Personally, I like metal lens mount.
- Non USM lens. AF speed is not as fast and quiet. But not slow neither.
- No Distance scale.
- Only has 5 aperture blades. Out of focus blur is not as pleasant as others such as the 50mm f/1.4 version.
- Manual focus ring position at the front of the lens. Harder to adjust the focus if needed.
- Not a full time manual focus lens like others such as the 50mm f/1.4.
- AF motor is nosier than other USM type lens. Using it in a quiet place may not be the best choice (wedding ceremony)