Aperture HELP!

Mark5000

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Im a newbie to photograpghy and I've been playing around with the aperture and shutterspeed seeing what effect I get. I have had my camera mode switch on AV and been taking pics of beer bottles to see what sort of depth of field i will get. I've been taking the photo's with the camera on Auto-Focus... Ive been told from a friend that I have been doing it wrong and should have the camera on manual focus?! Is Auto focus a no-no when your trying to be creative??

Autofocus is fine. You should use manual focus points for better control though.

Autofocus can work fine if it centers on where you want your focus. Getting a great depth of field of say some lined up bottles is best achieved if you focus part way into the line, not at the first or end of the line. There is a range of focus on either side of the focus point, so use it to your advantage. Either focus where you want using the center focus point (assuming your camera has multiple focus points) and recompose, or use a focus point on one side.

Once you have focused, as long as you hold the shutter down half way you can recompose and you should still be focused at the same point... assuming you dont back up or more forward a bunch. Also, make sure you are set to "one shot" and not to AI servo, because if you are on AI servo the camera will re-focus as you move it around when you hold the shutter half way down. AI servo is used for moving subjects.

Sometimes for this test I suggest manual focus, as then you are sure you are focusing on the same spot, which will be important.
Both will work, so it isn't a matter of right or wrong, but a matter of control .