Asked to take photos at a babyshower?

RNphoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I usually take portraits outside and I am still very new at it. Still learning a lot about lighting and I have been asked to take photos at an upcoming babyshower. I have a sb 700 speedflash and a Nikon D90 camera. A couple of lens, my question I guess is should I take this on? The only reason I ask is indoor and outdoor photos are very different. In everyones elses experience what are the best settings indoors to start at, at least so I can play around. I know it also depends on the lighting they have indoors natural vs artifical. I want to take the pictures because I will also be doing her maternity and newborn pictures coming up, but I want to know what I am doing and not just wing it. Thank you for any help. I would also love if anyone has any references on books or articles I can read up on. Jennifer

Definitely the flash will be helpful indoors. Just do not point it towards baby - bounce from the ceiling.

Assuming you are doing this because you're the 'friend with the good camera' and NOT because you're being paid, then yes, you should do it, and you will definitely need the flash. I will assume that you're going to be limited to using the speedlight on-camera, which is fine, so, as mentioned, bouncing is the key.

There are hundreds, if not thousands of tutorials on YouTube; search the term "bounce flash" and spend an hour or two watching. Given the nature of your questions, I'm going to make an assumption about your skill level and recommend using the camera in 'P' with the flash in TTL (which is probably what I would use in this situation).

The one thing I will recommend most strongly is practice. Grab your family and sit them down and practice, practice, practice!

I would say go for it, and of course read up on how to bounce flash. Your doing it for free or what?