Assorted collection from latest roll - advice?

Fishpaste

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi guys,

I processed roll 11 today after a bit of a break. I'm trying to work on my composition, but I'm really hitting a wall and I realized that few if any photos are really "saying" anything. They certainly seemed interesting at the time, but looking over the result and comparing to what others are posting, I can't help but feel disappointed.

I know a few basic composition rules, but there's something still lacking. Do you have ideas for a noob to explore, exercises to practice, etc, that will help me make better compositions? I realize there's no magic bullet, and I need the "eye" but maybe I can train myself to "see".

R1-04386-016A-Copy.jpg

Last edited:
Question, are these shot with a digital or 35mm?

Regardless, (and recognizing that I'm also a newbie), this is what my eye sees

1. The thing that bothers me most about this one is the lack of sharpness. I have a friend whose photography is miles beyond mine (but still lets me tag along on shoots sometimes) has a rule that (with the exception of "artsy" shots) if an image isn't crystal sharp he doesn't even bother processing it. If you have a clear subject but that subject isn't clear, it detracts from the image a lot. So the background blur is nice, but the spider is just too fuzzy. Also, I think that if you're going for a really macro look, the spider should fill much more of the frame; if you're going for more of a scene you might stop down quite a bit to get more of the scene (maybe the web or something) in focus.

2. I like this one, though you could reduce the noise in the upper sky. Also, the land is just blurry enough that it makes for the same uncomfortable blurriness in no. 1, but not quite blurred enough to imply motion in the bird. Also the horizon's not quite straight.