B&W Bay

Sirashley

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys, Like most here I'm new to photography. I love B&W shots and was told the best way to do B&W shots was to shoot in Color in the camera and then convert them. So that's what I did, now I need to know what I can do better. I've read some looked at other photos on other threads but I don't really understand the criticism. I feel as though I'm not grasping the concept of what I should be looking for out of my B&W photos. So feel free criticize, I need all the help I can get :lmao:

GoldenGateFinnBW.jpg

IMO...there is to much sky...look up the "Rule of Thirds" and "Rule of Curves" I think they will help you very much in framing and croping your shots.
The only other issue I have is focus...when converting to B/W you loose alot of detail that colors draw your eye to...note how the bridge blends into the mountain.
Not a bad shot overall, but with alittle technical considerations it could be much better

No, the best way to do black and white shots is to get a film SLR, a few rolls of Ilford Pan-F and shoot! ;)

With respect to the image posted, there is a lot of sky, but I like it; I think the interesting cloud formations contribute to a strong image. There are some compositional issues, especially with respect to the curve of the foreshore, which essentially leads your out the left side of the image. The bridge is well placed left to right, but too centred vertically. I would be inclined to crop out an area of the foreground. It really doesn't contribute a lot to the image. This will bring you more in line with the "rule" of thirds. DRoberts point about tones is a very good one. It would be well worth taking some time in the pixel-room to work on the area of the bridge and the hills so that they stand out from each other a little more.

No, the best way to do black and white shots is to get a film SLR, a few rolls of Ilford Pan-F and shoot! ;)