Baby Photography - Feedback Please!

atsilvers27

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

I'm new to the forum and a complete beginner. I just got my Nikon DSLR 5100 a few weeks back and am so excited for my first "big" camera. I've taken a few photos of my newborn in her christening outfit, and I have mixed feelings about them. I like how they look but these are in lieu of having them professionally done. I used the "portrait" setting. I edited the photos in Windows Live Photo Gallery. Please critique and let me know how I can improve my photography!

Attachments

• $DSC_0484 (1280x863).jpg
    $DSC_0484 (1280x863).jpg
    351.1 KB · Views: 105
  • $DSC_0487 (1024x678).jpg
    $DSC_0487 (1024x678).jpg
    175 KB · Views: 118
  • $DSC_0502 (1024x678).jpg
    $DSC_0502 (1024x678).jpg
    140.1 KB · Views: 103
  • $DSC_0506 (1024x678).jpg
    $DSC_0506 (1024x678).jpg
    221.5 KB · Views: 97
  • $DSC_0526 (1024x678).jpg
    $DSC_0526 (1024x678).jpg
    153.4 KB · Views: 102
  • $DSC_0546 (1024x698).jpg
    $DSC_0546 (1024x698).jpg
    183.6 KB · Views: 137
  • $DSC_0549 (1024x678).jpg
    $DSC_0549 (1024x678).jpg
    225.7 KB · Views: 106
Whoops! The first one is wrong - I had to resize these and that one looks grainy...here's the proper photo:

Attachments

• $DSC_0484 (1024x690).jpg
    $DSC_0484 (1024x690).jpg
    171.3 KB · Views: 102
They are okay.. but not professional. It's definitely a good start, but there are some issues here. The backgrounds in some are simple (a couch, a sheet), and distract from the image. All of the wrinkles in the image you reposted distract from the baby. In the shot with the window sill in the back, both the sill and cushion button distract from the baby.

Overall, the images are exposed well, but could use a slight bit of warming (they seem on the cool side to me).