Baby's birth photoshoot... help!

nola.ron

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Yep, I'm one of THOSE guys now... except I'm a little more prepared and have a little more time than usual! My best friend's wife (my cousin), has asked me to shoot the birth of their son... for free

I'm having no issues with her asking me to do it for free (I'm not a pro, obviously). I am also honored to be there. I would do it for free for them even if I were a pro. I have told my cousin 2 times very clearly: I am NOT a pro and I CAN'T guarantee all nor ANY of the photos will come out. She claims she is well aware of that and knows how it works, and that even if she could afford to pay someone else she would want me to do it because she doesn't want a stranger in the room.

Now that we have all that sorted out, what should I expect? I am comfortable with my cameras and plan to bring the following gear:

Manfroto tripod (purchasing next week)
Wireless Remote
Flash (Need to buy one... thinking YGII?)
D7000 w/ 50mm 1.8g
D3000 w/ 18-155 kit lens
Rapid straps
4 memory cards

Anything else I should have? I was thinking of setting up my D7K on the tripod for video and shots of the baby being held for fast snapping and carrying the D3K (but I hate to primarily shoot with that). The flash is going to be my first, and I'm ordering it this week so I have plenty of time to learn.

Can anyone with experience also tell me what to expect and anything I should be cautious of? The hospital is apparently tailored around the wants of the mother, there's tons of room, dedicated room for the entire process, photographer's are allowed (although I told her to ask specifically if a flash is allowed), etc.