Becoming a real professional?

DGMPhotography

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys,

So I've been doing photography for almost 6 years now. And I've been here on The Photo Forum for almost as long. About 1-2 years ago I began pushing the business side of things, and about 3 months ago I quit my full time job at the bank to pursue photography and acting.

The other night I went out shooting the Perseid meteor shower with a photographer acquaintance and her husband. They both gave me a lot of insight on how to really step up my business. For one, I've been way undercharging myself. And I've been doing that because I've been ignorant. I didn't think the Richmond market had people who could afford more than what I'd been charging. But a testimony from her told me otherwise. She does mostly weddings and is charging $2,500/wedding (which I know is about standard) and has about 20 booked this year. To date, I had been charging about $600 for a wedding. She looked at my work and told me I could be charging way more. She and I have been shooting for about the same amount of time, and our work is on a similar level of quality I think. (Hers: Kourtney Smithson – Wedding & Lifestyle Photography | Richmond, Va ; Mine: Daryll Morgan Photography | Richmond Photographer). I guess I had never really thought about it. I thought I wasn't good enough. And who knows, maybe I'm not, but at least now my eyes have been opened so I can try new things.