Begginer - Portrait shot, would appreciate any C&C.

The quality of this portfolio image is...

• Poor

Votes: 3 25.0%
  • OK

Votes: 9 75.0%
  • Excellent

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

kemem28

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am new at photography, and am interested in portraits and people photography especially.

This is my first attempt at portrait photography, a picture taken of my husband, in a typical 'business portfolio portrait' setting, taken at home
with a curtain as a background, 1 soft box used. I can't seem to get the lighting to fall the way I want it to, or am I being to hard on myself? (the soft box is a bit bright and have to move it back quite far). C&C?

$efs2.jpg

Last edited:
it's ok. Why can't you dial down the power and move the softbox closer?

I purchased a continues light soft box... I should of purchased one with a dial.

I will look into that, thanks for the suggestion :)

.... or if it has multiple bulbs (as most cfl softbox "kit lights") do, just remove a bulb or two. Or just wire a household dimmer to the cord for about $2.00... keep in mind though, that if your light does have cfl bulbs, they have to be specifically dimmable, otherwise they just turn off.

ISO 5000, 1/1250, and f1.8??? WHAT? Okay, let's back up the bus a bit here. Just because your lens has a maximum aperture of f1.8 doesn't mean you should shoot at that. Your image is very soft, doubtless as a result of the extremely shallow DoF; probably only 6" or less in this case. If you'd dropped your shutter speed down to 1/150, you could have reduced your ISO to somewhere in the 600 range. Rather moving your light farther, move it CLOSER; the farther the light source is the harsher the shadows will be. Bringing the light closer will also allow you to use a small aperture and achieve greater DoF.