Beginner Resources/Advice on Lenses

Wunderlush

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all, I'm new here, and I'm new to photography; it's been a hobby for some time but admittedly I have so much to learn. My friend is a professional photographer and gave me her old Canon EOS D30 because she believes I have "an eye for composition." I need help; honestly, the technical aspects of this camera and photography in general overwhelm me. Can anyone recommend a good learning resource for beginners? Also, I am looking for a good lens to start out with, any suggestions? Right now all I have is a macro and a zoom. Thanks!

Welcome aboard.
I'd suggest starting with the basics. Learn about Exposure, which encompasses three main things; Shutter Speed, Aperture and ISO. Those things haven't changed in 200 years, so any good photography resource could be a good start. There are many books, but you might also consider a class so that you can be face to face with an instructor.

The Canon D30 is ancient by today's standards. I think it's only got 3.1 mega pixels and the noise levels are probably laughable compared to anything modern, but that doesn't mean you can't learn photography with it.

I think the 30D is a great camera to learn your way around the camera. As Big Mike suggested, learning exposure is key first step. There are a ton of resources on the net, and a good one if you're just starting out is Cambridge in Colour:

Learn Photography Concepts

I find the tutorials on this site very easy to understand.

To learn you way around the 30D, there's always the manual which you can find on Canon's site. To go beyond the manual with specific recommendations and good explanations of which options to use and when to use them, I kind of like David Busch's books:

Canon EOS 30D Guide to Digital SLR Photography: David D. Busch: 9781598633368: Amazon.com: Books