Beginners Must Haves?

Leigh4

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey all. Just got my first DSLR about two weeks ago and am loving the tips, advice and feedback on the site. I am a novice in every sense of the word and am finding the learning process both fun and frustrating.

Anyway, I bought a Canon Rebel XS and have the standard 18-55 lens and also a 75-300mm. Bag, tripod and Speedlite 430ex II, check. Looking for opinions and suggestions from all of you more experienced peeps about what accessories/lenses, etc... are really the most helpful and needed at a beginner's level. One trip into my local camera shop and a very persuasive salesgirl convinced me I 'needed' $140 worth of filters. I would love to upgrade the lenses but not sure how to get the most bang for my buck. (Can't afford the lovely red ring yet)

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks all and glad I found this site!

Wireless triggers from the get-go. I wish I had.

Could you give a little information about what you want to shoot? What are you most interested in doing with photography?

If you do not know much about photography or if you do not know what a exposure is, get this book

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Could you give a little information about what you want to shoot? What are you most interested in doing with photography?
+1.

By the way you already have much, as a beginner. Explore what you have (by taking pictures and pictures) so that you will find what you still miss.

If you do not know much about photography or if you do not know what a exposure is, get this book

^^ 1+ that book plus an idea of where you want to go.