Best camera to purchase?

dcmoody23

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, I'm 16 and I'm a SERIOUS art student (currently in high school). I currently don't own a camera but have saved up some money and am looking to make a purchase. I want something that will be good for sports photography, but at the same time is rather versatile for different types of photos (especially people & macro). I am looking to spend around $1500, but because I want something that will last me and that I can use in my art portfolio and in art school while training with photography I will spend more if it is worth it. I have been looking at the Nikon D90 for a while now but I'm concerned after reading reviews about a slow shutter speed (for sports).. I am looking for both a camera and a lens or lenses, or a package where i can get a discount (but with good lenses please) would be great too.

Any help or suggestions will be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Just from research, your price point and my bias I would say get a D90 and a couple of extras with your $1500.

I would seriously consider a clean used body which will leave you more to spend on glass. I don't know the Nikon line, but a used Canon 40D can be had for the mid $500's if you look around.

haha sports photography with a budget of 1500 bucks ahahahaha

a good fast 400mm lens can run you 6 grand, and if you want something with fast fps 4.5+ then you gotta spend at least 1600 on the camera

and dont forget the monopod hehe

a good fast 400mm lens can run you 6 grand, and if you want something with fast fps 4.5+ then you gotta spend at least 1600 on the camera

D90 Body (4.5fps) = $800 shipped.
Sigma 70-200 f/2.8 or Nikon 80-200 f/2.8 = $800

Total = $1600