Between these two lenses which one 1st EF...

rprimeau95

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
rlp-photography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I plan on getting both these lenses but which one should I get first???
Canon EF 100-300 f/4.5-5.6 USM or EF 28-105 mm 1:3.5-4.5 USM Macro

I am new to doing business I plan on specializing in candid baby, children, maternity artistic shots on location not in studio. I also want to do commercial shots for food, tattoos, perfume bottles etc that need close range contrast and details. I have read many reviews that state on a budget with these two lenses most focal ranges would be covered at a reasonable price.

I currently have a job offer to do a food menu, recipe book I told the person that I may be limited with the current lenses I own and would need a better lens. She offered to get me one if I could find a good deal on ebay at the 150.00 range I know it is possible. Between these two lenses

Canon EF 100-300 f/4.5-5.6 USM or EF 28-105 mm 1:3.5-4.5 USM Macro not the older version with the flower icon on it.

I heard read that Canon has not been able to top the 100-300mm semi pro lens and this is a great lens, I also read that this is not a very fast lens but has one touch zoom w/macro focusing. I also understand that this is best for wildlife, candid shots, concerts and sports.

As for the 28-105 I have read it is the most versatile and best performing affordable zoom lens ever made by Canon and combined with the above you would have a very awesome range. When one says a lens is versatile how does one know what this lens is best for?
Here is what I have currently have all the pics you see in my Portfolios are the my Canon w/the 18-55mm lens.

Canon Rebel 350d-XT
Canon 50mm f/1.8 II Lens
Canon 18-55mm Lens
Digital High definition 0.5x Wide Angle Lens with Macro