Bicycle Touring... What camera to get?!?

White99z

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey everyone. This is my first post! It is time for me to finally switch over to digital. I was a photography student in High School and excelled. It has been four years since I have used my SLR camera, but I think I still have it in me! In a month, I will be embarking on a midwest bicycle tour, going from my hometown of Grand Rapids, MI around Michigan, Minnesota, and Wisconsin. Most of my time will be spent in Michigan. I will be gone for nearly two months and would like to get a digital SLR to document my trip as well as to jumpstart my passion for photography again. I will be taking my Nikon N75 with me to do some black and white photography too, provided I don't sell it. I am looking to purchase a used camera. I will primarily be taking scenery shots such as sunsets, lake pictures, etc as that is my passion. I will also be taking some pictures of people as I will be hitting a few music festivals on the way! Also, I would like to keep the price around $400, but could go up to $500. Is there a camera/lens combo out there that I could pick up used for this price which will allow me to take some professional quality photos? It also needs to be durable because it will be travelling! Good battery life is a plus too. Thanks for you help. I hope to be using these forums much more often!

Jeremy

I guess I should also say that I would prefer to get something I won't need to upgrade soon, because I am sure I will get very serious into photography again. I stopped with the film photography because I no longer had a darkroom and equipment to work with. Now all I need is my laptop!

similar situation and budget to me it seems

need a decent body with a good all around leans for $500,

im now looking at a used, nikon, D50 D70(bring up to a bit more than 500) or D40 with either an 18-70 or stretch to an 18-135mm lenses.

Mabye you can push you budget a little more and get Nikon's latest....