Blown out images in post

Charles Murray

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
What's up everyone,
In my quest to better myself as a photographer I have come to an impasse. I've been under the assumption that when setting up my shot captured in RAW I should be taking it a little under exposed so I can bring out all the details in post without the highlights be blown out. But when I do this and goes to raise the exposure in lightroom, the image gets really blown out and loses all contrast and just becomes a dull almost grayish color across the whole image. What exactly am I doing wrong?

have you tried bringing down the highlights?

What's up everyone,
In my quest to better myself as a photographer I have come to an impasse. I've been under the assumption that when setting up my shot captured in RAW I should be taking it a little under exposed so I can bring out all the details in post without the highlights be blown out. But when I do this and goes to raise the exposure in lightroom, the image gets really blown out and loses all contrast and just becomes a dull almost grayish color across the whole image. What exactly am I doing wrong?

Show us. Create a free Dropbox account and post one of the raw files there along with your processed version.

You're first assumption is a bad one. Do not deliberately underexpose raw files. With a raw file you should either 1. Expose such that the camera software generates a good-exposure JPEG or, if you're more serious, 2. Expose the sensor to place the diffuse highlights at the sensor threshold.

Joe

lr-histogram-3.jpg

What's up everyone,

Show us. Create a free Dropbox account and post one of the raw files there along with your processed version.

You're first assumption is a bad one. Do not deliberately underexpose raw files. With a raw file you should either 1. Expose such that the camera software generates a good-exposure JPEG or, if you're more serious, 2. Expose the sensor to place the diffuse highlights at the sensor threshold.

Joe