Brand new here (advice on pics pls!)

Yelie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi there! Well I am not really new at taking pictures but I am new at trying to really make them good :blushing: I finally got a camera that will take some good pictures so I wanted to advice on what I can do to make them better! I'm going to B&N tonight to check out some books but meanwhile here are a couple pictures I took today with the new camera..

DSC_0067.jpg

DSC_0069.jpg

DSC_0096.jpg

DSC_0131.jpg

DSC_0189.jpg

I reread this and figured I should be more specific. I'm really just looking for advice and what I should really concentrate on to begin with? They were taken with the Nikon D40 and unedited.

I've been looking at the galleries and looking over the critics there and thats helping a lot but would still love some on mine :sexywink:

I would say you did quite well. Exposure is good on most, composition is good too. #'s 1 &2 are my favs

With landscape garden photos such as this one there is little you can still do to become better. The photos clearly show that you either know about composition ("rules" ... or much rather "conventions"), or you simply feel them. All five photos are pleasantly composed.

You also seem to be well familiar with the effects of aperture to your photo and know when to choose which aperture to get the effects you want (sharpness from front to back, or a detached subject against a blurred background). Exposure looks ok, the blue bridge seems to be a tad overexposed and the rose just that bit too dark (to my eyes).

Will you want to make yourself familiar with post processing software such as Photoshop, maybe? Or are you familiar with that already?

Only very minor tweaks in Photoshop would already help the Blue-Bridge-Photo and a mild push on the highlight-levels for the rose would make that one "pop", too. No need for any huge "rescue" actions here!!