Budget Macro of a Spider

Valls

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.instagram.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey friends! This was shot with a nikkor 55-200 + a magnifying glass in front of the lens, cuz I'm in a budget! hahaha

This is supposedly a Nephilla spider, but I'm no expert! If you know what it really is, please comment! :) otherwise, feel free to leave here your thoughts about the pic! :)

13439196_1144907188892689_6141690577192582260_n.jpg

Cheers!

All I can tell you is that it is a spider. You're getting surprisingly good results with your budget technique!

thanks! :) I feel the image is a bit soft with this technique... I tried coupling lens and it works better, but I didn't really wanna get close enough to use it with this particular spider! hahaha

Don't blame you! Yes, it is a little soft, but it's usable and given what it cost, pretty darn respectable. There are a couple of other budget-friendly options which may yield slightly to significantly better results: Close up or macro "filters" such as these (NOT recommending these in particular, just an example). Depending on the quality they may not yield a lot of improvement but will mean that you don't have to hold two things, or, you can try a reversing ring which allows you to mount your lens backwards and focus in much more closely. Of course with this, you lose all automatic/electronic functionality of the lens.

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.