Buying Lens off Craigslist?

DogGoneGood

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was planning to purchase the Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 lens off Amazon in a week or two, for $125, plus shipping. Looking on my local Craigslist a minute ago, I just noticed that someone has this lens for sale for $88. They said, "Mint Condition w/Original Front and Rear Lens Caps" and have a couple photo's of it.

It's a good deal price wise, saves me the shipping costs and the waiting time on getting it. But, what should I look for if I decide to buy the lens from them? I know about obvious things like scratches or marks on the lens. Anything else? I'm still learning about lenses and everything, so I don't want to go buy this lens and then get it home only to realize that something is wrong with it.

Well, what I would do is bring your camera with you and try the lens on it. Put your camera in Av and take a few shots wide open, stop down to f/2.8 and take a photo, 5.6 etc. Look make sure it autofocuses and check the front and rear lens elements to make sure there are no scratches. It's a 100 dollar lens. It will feel cheap in your hands, but it's a good lens to learn on. Just don't drop it. It will probably fall into two pieces.

Well $125 is too much anyway... you should be able to get it used just about anywhere for $100 or less (Amazon not included...for some reason the price is super high there...used is the same price as brand new).

But I'd definitely be fine buying from Craiglist. I've sold lenses on Craigslist before and I'd be fine buying there too. It gives you the opportunity to try out the lens before buying it, which is more than you can say for most online sources. I've had to spend $30+ to ship back lenses that I wasn't happy with after buying from eBay (usually because of defects from poor use that weren't listed)...with Craigslist you're only losing money for gas.