Buying New Lens

Dingerkingh

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey Guys:

I have a Nikon D5200 that I am looking to purchase a new lens to take some quality portraits of our new baby coming in June and the family. I have read that the Nikon 50mm f/1.8 G AF-S Nikkor FX Lens is decent for the price. Are there other lenses that I should be considering for this? I am quite new to photography and just want to make sure I am not missing a much better option. Currently - I only have the stock lens that shipped with the camera kit. Should I be looking into other brands or is the Nikkor decent stuff?

Thanks for any guidance!

DH

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Hey Guys:

I have a Nikon D5200 that I am looking to purchase a new lens to take some quality portraits of our new baby coming in June and the family. I have read that the Nikon 50mm f/1.8 G AF-S Nikkor FX Lens is decent for the price. Are there other lenses that I should be considering for this? I am quite new to photography and just want to make sure I am not missing a much better option. Currently - I only have the stock lens that shipped with the camera kit. Should I be looking into other brands or is the Nikkor decent stuff?

Thanks for any guidance!

DH

The Nikon 50 mm F/1.8 would be my recommendation. I have one myself and for it's price I don't think you'll really find a better portrait lens.

Ok - great. Thanks for your thoughts!
Hey Guys:

Thanks for any guidance!

DH

The Nikon 50 mm F/1.8 would be my recommendation. I have one myself and for it's price I don't think you'll really find a better portrait lens.

Nikon kit lens are not bad,especially for a someone new to photography.. I would save my money for diapers!!!! Congratulations on you new baby in june......(oh, the 50mm 1:8 is a great lens)