C&C on my first photos! Thanks!

Ashlorraine

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi! You may recognize me from about a month ago when I asked for advice on what DSLR to get. I finally decided on a D60 and got it in the mail 2 days ago ! So naturally today I went out in my backyard/downtown and started taking pictures. I am new to photography and just learning about exposure so I would really appreciate if you would help me out with these or just say what you think I did well/need to improve. Thankyou!! Sorry there are so many photos...I'm really indecisive. I used the 18-55mm lens it came with in manual mode and I didn't edit anything. Most of the afternoon was overcast but bright.

3774417260_9ff6b75541.jpg

to clarify I was trying to get the bee as the main subject!

3773613553_2812ef1d3e.jpg

3774418214_ce0b854315.jpg

3773611981_473d585260.jpg

3773609549_f39270d789.jpg

#5 was one of my worst shots today. I kept playing around with everything but I couldn't get it to come out right. Either my dog was dark or the background was blown out. Obviously it was very bright behind him but I really wanted a shot of him there. How could I best capture this? I had this problem in a lot of my other photos today (like #4) Thankyou!! They are siberian huskies by the way for those who asked :)

Last edited:
If you're shooting on anything other then manual, then you're exposure will be decided by the camera. You could do try changing compensation or metering mode. Doug Gordon in one of his seminars was talking about spot metering on the eyes for optimum exposure. Try to preset your WB, your colors will look a bit nicer.

I like #1. Not sure if you wanted to point out the bug though.