C&C please on this b&w landscape

Discussion in 'The Black & White Gallery' started by SquarePeg, Nov 22, 2016.

1. SquarePeg

SquarePeg hear me roar Staff Member Supporting Member

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    The red light in the lighthouse was overpowering this in color so I converted it to b&w. This is not something I have a lot of experience with. The shot was pretty dark to begin with and I somehow hit a wrong button while shooting in the dark and ended up with jpeg only which really limited my editing options. So what do you think? Too dark or intriguingly dark? Interesting or not? Suggestions for improvement? Bin it?

[​IMG]Nubble4 by SharonCat..., on Flickr

2. Parker219

Parker219 TPF Supporters Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    Personally , I like the image.

Maybe if it was a RAW image you could have adjusted the lighting to show a beam coming from the lighthouse?

I might be tempted to raise the exposure a little , depending on how the image quality held up. Hopefully you shot this on a tripod with ISO 100.

• Like Like x 2
  3. SquarePeg

Photos OK to edit
    No RAW file so I only have the jpeg to work with. I was using a tripod but was shooting ISO 3200 as I was set up for the super moon and was trying to capture the moon details so I was keeping the exposure short so as not to end up with a big blob of light. Unfortunately the moon was a bust because it clouded up along the horizon and then I somehow ended up changing my settings by mistake so I ended up with jpeg only.

4. Parker219

Parker219 TPF Supporters Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    I was looking at the photo at first from my phone, so the noise is not as noticeable, now that I am on my computer and the image is bigger I can tell that the ISO was high. Would have been better to shoot at f/5-7.1 with ISO 100, but nothing you can do about it now.

Do you live close by, so you can re-shoot?

5. snowbear

snowbear . Staff Member Supporting Member