Camera Recommendations

iconnolly

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, I'm new to the forum and I'm interested in purchasing a digital SLR and my buget is $600-$700. I have been using traditional cameras untill now and I'm advancing into the digital world. I'm not a professional photographer, but it is a serious hobby of mine. I realize there are thousands of camera choices out there, and my buget is kind of restrictive but I'm heading towards Cannons digitals. Can anyone shed some light on helping me with deciding on what road to take? Appreciate any help!

Thank you

What were you using with film?

Do you already have a collection of lenses? (Depending on what mount they are, you may still be able to use them...)

Josh, I currently own a Minolta AF 70-210. It's at least 10-15 years old. I'm thinking it's not worth trying to match a new camera to this lens....what are your thoughts? Thanx much

Yeah, if it's just one lens we're talking about, I wouldn't let that hold me to a particular mount. (Especially since we would be talking Sony in your case, lol. ...I'm gonna get some **** for that one ... oh well :lol:)

You mentioned Canon ... I think that would be a good choice. For your budget, you're probably going to be looking at something like a T1i or T2i (not 100% sure on the latest prices...). I know absolutely nothing about Nikon, but I wouldn't rule them out either. In my opinion - it would be better to stick with either Nikon or Canon...

Not sure what the Nikon model would be for your budget.

thankx so much Josh, I'm looking to purchase something for xmas, and at least you have narrowed it down for me?

i'd try both Nikon and Canon out and see which one you like better as far as ergonomics and usefulness of their menus and options