can you guess the focal length?

erkindemir

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
hello guys. I'm a fashion photographer and i have 24,50 and 85 1.8 primes on my d800. the thing is i like to show the background with my objects so i find my nikon 50mm 1.8g very ''narrow'' and 24 too ''wide''. so im planning to get a sigma 35mm 1.4 (which i heard great things). so heres my question these two pictures seems to taken by a focal length around 35. whats your guesses??

View attachment 80585View attachment 80586

Last edited by a moderator:
I'd say you 35 is a good guess. But I'm horrible at guessing focals.

I'm guessing since you can see the whole body of the subject and a lot of background, then that equals I wider lens.

A large lens usually compresses the background.

So yes, I'd say your right with that assumption and would go around 35.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Judging by the deep depth of field in the night shot, I would say that the camera format apepars "smallish"...the lens has quite deep depth of field in that frame. The distant alleyway features are very recognizable: that is the hallmark of a small-format camera's capture.

Discussing lens length without also relating to camera capture size is for lack of a better expression, a fool's errand; on 120 rollfilm, a 37mm lens is an ULTRA-ULTRA wide-angle lens. Hasselblad made its model, the Superwide C, with a 38mm Biogon lens, which was the widest angle medium format camera lens for many years. I believe Mamiya made a 37mm prime for their 6x7 cameras.

On 24x36mm digital or film that same 35,36,37,38mm range focal length is a semi-wide-angle lens. On Micro 4/3, a 35 to 37mm focal length is a telephoto lens.