Can you open the film door after taking a picture on Canon AE-1?

torid8

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey I am very new to the camera world. I just got a canon ae-1 and tried loading the film. I opened the film door after taking 2 pictures to make sure it was in correctly but when i closed the door the frame count went back to S instead of 2. Are you not supposed to open it once you take a picture?

No, you do not open the back until the whole roll is exposed and wound back into the film cassette. The film you now have in the camera is probably ruined.

The part of the film that was still in the cassette is most probably still good, but everything up to that point, so everything that was exposed to light, is gone.
You can take a partially exposed film out, but you have to rewind it first and when you want to put it back, pull out the end with a film extractor, put it back in the camera and wind it past where you were before so you don't get double exposure.

Well, you probably ruined the first 5 shots or so. The part of the film after that is protected inside the film canister. So you can restart from the beginning. Then shoot-off 6 dummy shots advancing the count to let's say 7, and from that point the rest of the shots will come out OK.

The entire roll is not ruined (as long as the door wasn't open too long in direct light), but those two pictures and probably the next couple of frames definitely are.

Film is light sensitive. If you expose it to light before you shoot it, it is unusable. If you expose it to light after shooting and before developing, the pictures you took are essentially all blown out.

In short, no, do NOT open the door of the camera unless you do so in complete darkness or until you have already shot the roll and rewound the film back into the lightproof cannister.