Canon 3/30/300

Eid

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I've been shooting for 3 years now, using my Pentax K100D, after that an K20D. After some time I switched to a lended Minolta system, and now I need to give it back, so I was thinking of getting myself a Canon 35mm system.

I was wondering does the AF system differ much on autofocusing in dark areas between the 3, 30 and the 300 EOS'es? I don't care about the speed, but the accuracy.

I have the Elan 7 (EOS 30). It hunts quite a bit in the dark, unless you use the on-board flash to assist in auto focus, at which point it strobes and causes your subject to go into an epileptic fit. The EOS 300 has the same AF system, so you can expect similar results. When it does finally decide to lock on, it usually gets it right. You can reduce hunt time and increase accuracy in AF by selecting the specific AF point you want to use.

The EOS 3 has the most advanced AF system of the 3, using a 45-point system.

That AF lamp helps? I've seen them both on the 3 and the 30, I wonder.

I've been thinking if I should go with the EOS system or the FD now, yes FD doesn't have an AF, but the lenses are much better for the buck, and I could only get an 50mm f1.8 for my budget atm with the EOS.