Canon 50MM f/1.8 or f/1.4?

Matthew_rs7

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everybody! This is my first time on this forum. I have browsed here a couple times, but it's a specific situation that encouraged me to promptly create an account (My profile is still in the making).

The Story:

I have a Canon EOS Rebel T2i that I use for both video and photography (I'm a Television Broadcasting graduate who is getting into video editing, naturally photography is a close and big hobby of mine) In my small and growing collection of lenses I have the stock Canon lens, a Sigma 300MM f/5.6, and my personal favorite, the Canon 40MM f/2.8. aka - pancake lens.

As much as I loved the f/2.8 lens, unfortunately my ex has stolen it from me. after a break up I gave her all her stuff back and upon pickup she dropped NONE of my stuff off. I didn't loose too much but that lens was the most expensive and treasured item I didn't get back. So I need to replace it!

Sure, I could technically get the same lens again, but I am eye balling the Canon 50MM lenses both the f/1.8 and f/1.4. I am having trouble deciding which it best for me. I will list below what I am looking for and ask you guys what would be the best decision.

Lens Comparison: (I get a staff discount from Best Buy, which is why I buy there)

Lens to replace - Canon EF 40mm f/2.8 Lens

Lens #1 - Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM Lens

Lens #2
- Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM Lens

My experience and uses to consider

Aperture - What impressed me the most about the f/2.8 was how much light I was able to take in, particularly when shooting indoor. This is because the stock lens's f/3.5 was the most I could open up. Going to f/2.8 was a HUGE leap and it impressed me big time. Having a lower ISO, thus, lower grain in my images made me very happy. f/1.8 or f/1.4 are both big leaps from 2.8. Aperture is one of the main things I'm looking at here. I am sure f/1.8 will blow me out of the water even more.