Canon 5d Mark ii or save up for 7d mark ii or really save up 5d Markiii

bullitt_bee

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello everyone,

Thanks for taking the time to read my first post. I am an armature photographer who would like to move toward photography as a profession. I am signed up for some classes starting in the spring to expand on my knowledge base.

Right now I am using a Rebel T3, which has been great to learn on, but feel I need to upgrade to make the next step. I have targeted the 5d mark III as the Camera I want, however, it will be awhile saving for it, and I have been told that I should look at getting an older full frame body to practice with while I save. There are some used 5d Mark II body for sale in my area $500-$900 CAD, but I am hesitant to spend that much money on a Mark ii when that money could go toward the Mark III. I guess my question is, should I get the Mark II and get used to using a full frame body while I save for my dream Camera, or continue to save and use my T3. Would I notice a huge difference between my T3 and the Mark II? (that might be a loaded question sorry). Thanks again everyone for your advice and opinions!

Welcome to the site.

I'll ask you a question about your current camera. What about it is holding you back at this point?

Going to a full frame body is something that is really nice but isn't always necessary. It really depends on what you are photographing whether or not the FF is going to be beneficial.

That being said, there is a significant difference between the T3 and the 5D mk II as it relates to image sensor and low light capabilities. I rented one when I had my T3i and was shocked at the difference in the images in low lighting.

Another thing to consider is what glass do you currently have? If you only have EF-S glass, then you are going to have to get different glass for a full frame body since the EF-S will not work on the 5D's.