canon body questions!

Marissamurdy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
hello! I currently have a canon 20d and am looking to upgrade. I'm having a hard time deciding which canon body is the best for me. My dream would be the 5d mark ii but I can't afford to spend 2500 at the moment. I was thinking a used 50d or the 5d mark i. I am a portrait photographer and not looking to do any action photography. Any suggestions or comments would be great!

You can check out some of my photography at Flickr: Marissa.Murdy's Photostream

That's not enough information.

What is it the 20D isn't doing for you, that has you looking to upgrade?

Have you considered a 7D? The 5D1 is a great portraiture camera, and works wonders in low light, but it is DEFINITELY not a sports/action camera (and neither is the 5D2, really).

The 7D offers good low light performance for an APS-C body, and has 19 Cross Type focus points to keep the action in focus.

Before you run out and buy a 7D or a 50D, figure out what capabilities you need. Why wouldn't a much less expensive high-end Rebel (T2i, T3i, T3) suit your purposes? They probably have more features and better performance than what you have. If you're doing portraits and not action you probably don't care if your camera isn't built like a tank. I dragged my first Rebel around the city in a backpack (a regular, non-padded one) for three years with no problems.

What lenses do you have now? If you have any EF-S lenses (or off-brand equivalent), then you need to realize that they won't work on a 5D, 5D mk II etc. So if you do have them, and don't want to get a new lens(s) as well...then you may want to stick with an APS-C body.