Canon EOS 6D or Sony Alpha 7R or 7S?

cupcake_nancy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi guys,
hopefully someone can help me with the decision I'm struggling with...

I' going on a round the world trip come November and am looking for a professional camera. I'll be showcasing my photography on the web. I'm an amateur / enthusiast and have so far owned a Sony Alpha SLR camera which I was quite happy about but initially I wanted to replace it with either a Canon EOS 70D or Canon 6D. After a lot of research I decided to go for the Canon 6D. In the meantime, I have held it in my hands and found it quite big and bulky. I'm only going to be taking a 45l backpack (i know...it's mad!) so the camera will be taking up a lot of space. Needless to say...having to carry the camera wherever I go could be quite annoying. So I started looking into alternatives and the Sony Alpha 7R or 7S caught my eye. It's incredibly light weight and small - so perfect for long travel. However, do the Canon 6D and the Sony Alpha 7R/S compare at all? Which one would you go for and why? Can the Sony shoot good professional photos? I'm a bit hesitant as it is not an SLR camera but apparently the image quality is amazing. I also would have gone for Canon's ef 24-105 l & the 50ef lense. What would be the equivalent for the Sony, please? It seems they currently only have 4 or 5 lenses available...

If the Canon is really the much better camera, I would consider buying a bigger backpack and bite the bullet and carry the 'brick'.

But if the Sony compares to it, I think my decision is made. But which Sony to go for? The R or the S? I'll be shooting landscape mainly and sometimes portrait. Photography will be mainly at day-time.

Thank you for your help!!