Canon Lens...

BuS_RiDeR

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
mdlphotography.blogspot.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I think this lens would do the Job... But I want your opinions... I'm still learning about these things...

Is the Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS USM a good lens for sports photography? (Hockey, baseball, football and so on...). Is it fast enough?

ef400_28lisu_586x225.jpg

Last edited:
Yeah this is pretty much the end-all-be-all of field sports lenses. You've got to have some kind of support system, it's much too heavy to hand-hold for long periods of time.

That said, if you want REALLY tight shots you might want to look at a 600 or longer lens-- this is about as tight as you'll get for most football play.
418311696_Z8fvh-L.jpg

For this lens, you want a solid tripod with a Wimberly Gimbal mount (or equivalent). Don't go cheap -- the lens is very expensive and it's heavy and you'd hate to see it hit dirt.

Wimberley (since this article was written, there are competitors to Wimberly)

http://www.bythom.com/support.htm

I agree -- this is THE outdoor sports photographer's lens. It ain't cheap!

For sports, I'm hesitant to suggest a tripod-- you'd be really locked down and it'd be a pain to move, especially in a hurry (think running back bearing down on you). A good monopod is probably a better idea for this specific application. For something else, like wildlife shooting, a tripod might be better.

Yes that lens is fast enough. It is what I and most of the sports photographers I shoot with use on one body for most field sports. It is an incredible lens for sports shooting, and can make a fantastic portrait lens if you need that kind of working distance. The bokah is amazing.