Canon Users: Best Walk Around Lens

Duess

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Question for Canon Users. I am new to Canon about 6 months ago and I wanted to get some feedback from members here about what they use as their walk around lens.

I have a few photo friends that I go out and shoot with pretty frequently, and I got their opinion, but the more the merrier. I was told the Canon 28-135mm IS lens is perfect for walking around, which I definitely agree with, but what do members here think about that? Bought the 28-135mm recently and have been using it, but is there something out there that people think might be better?

What do you walk around with? Any suggestions are welcome, as long as you could please explain why you like/dislike a particular lens.

Thank You for your help in advance. :thumbup:
-Duess

P.S. I am using a Hoya Polarizer on it as well which makes a huge difference IMHO

Mine is either my 17-40 or 24-70. This is on a full frame camera. For a crop, I'd use a 10-20ish or a 17-55ish.

That totally depends on what your budget is but im sure you will get a wide range of opinions...

Tight budget...the 28-135 is tough to beat. Not very wide on a 1.6 crop but enough so for most subjects. The IS works well. Not the sharpest lens out there but again, for the money, its quite good.

More room in your budget...24-70L or 24-105L. I tend to favor the 24-70 because I use the 2.8 a whole lot more than I do the IS of the 24-105. Both extremely versatile but definitely starting to creep up there in the price range.

A more middle of the road approach would be a 17-40L. This was my walk around lens of choice for a long time when using 1.6 crops and gave me countless thousands of beautiful pictures. Wide even on a crop, sharp, versatile. Shines even more when you put it on a FF body. Fantastic lens....kick myself for getting rid of mine.