Car Photoshoot Prices?

kvas691

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have started to become a big name in the local Tuner Car scene with my photography. I have always done it for free for my friends, but since going to an event and taking pics for some random cars, i have people approaching me about doing photoshoots with their cars and Crews. I need to know how much to charge. As of now, i do not think they will be buying actual prints, but downloading them for their Forum pictures and build threads online. I am still a newbie at this, and this is all kind of coming pretty fast haha heres an example of some of my work. need to know what kind of price range to charge. Thanks alot.

BarriereEVOx1 by kvas691, on Flickr

OrangeSRT4 by kvas691, on Flickr

Bryan WRX Firehouse by kvas691, on Flickr

Hi Ken - I moved your other thread since it was identical to this one. This is the more appropriate forum for what you're asking. Please - no duplicate posts in multiple forums. Thanks!

Good luck with your work!

The price you charge has to take many factors into account.

Things like how much it cost you to make the photos, your reputation, and how long you've been in business.

It sounds like you are just starting out business wise, but people have heard of you so you have some reputation.

Unfortunately, you have been shooting for free and that's also likely part of your rep,

Your friend: "Ya, Ken Vasquez took those pictures for me".
The guy he's talking to: "Dude, those shots are sweet. How much does he charge?"
Your friend, " Nothing vato, he does it for free."

One of the most difficult things for a business to do - is raise prices.

But, there are many pricing strategies:
  • Cost plus
  • Competitive pricing
  • Value-in-use pricing
  • Market penetration pricing
  • Promotional pricing
  • Loss-Leader pricing
  • Prestige pricing (This is what I use)
  • Trial pricing
  • and many others