Cat on a hot tin roof C&C (BESP)

pharmakon

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Not sure what kind of attention the title will draw but I figured what the heck. (It's from an old Johnny Carson episode featuring "Alf" by the way)

This is my submission for week 2 of Bitter's Evil School of Photography. This week was an Abstract project using Line as the subject. We had to submit 2 photographs for C&C this week.

I had a really hard time trying to make a compelling abstract composition. I have never tried it before, and though it looks simple it really is a challenge!

Photo 1: The Cat's Diversion
1/200 sec, f/8, ISO 400, 135mm
Lit via off-camera flash camera right, Homemade diffuser.
4433443367_17a5396683_o.jpg

Photo 2: Calm before the storm

1/200sec, f/5.6, 109mm, ISO 400
Lit via off camera flash, Camera left.
I first thought of using b&w for this, but found oversaturating to bring out unseen colors had a nice effect.
4434214980_f006d019b4_o.jpg

All in all this was a good but frustrating experience. I tried many different things, both living and man made, and these were the two I ended up liking the most.

Your C&C is greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
I like both of these to some degree.

#1: The lighting is dramatic, which matches the diagonals. Interesting pattern.

#2: A striking image really. It is grainy and highly processed, but the variety of colors works for me and the grain adds to the edginess of it.

2 is messing with my eyes, but is very interesting. I think the lighting could be a tad bit improved.

1 is an interesting pattern, but the lighting makes it dull, and a bit to contrasty.

I like them both. I would guess # 1 is a ball of twine and #2 is a radiator of some sort...?
I really like the colors in #2 excpet the one bright large line down the center. If it was a little darker i think it would blend a little better and not draw my attention away from the lines.