Child portrait Critque.

smurf4t

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi all

I'm Tanja , i'm new to photography. But not a beginner. Just looking for some advice and critique of my latest pictures of my friends kids. I love child photography and am looking to enhance my skill.

Thank you.

$image-20758254.jpg

$image-2382818934.jpg

im really new to photography but heres what i thought right off the bat. When enlarging the photos, they both looked on the soft side. the faces are not fully focused. What was your shutter speed? Aperature? Also imo i feel the pictures are a tad warm. goo

Critique per req:

1. As mentioned, the image is very soft; I can't say for sure without the EXIF data, but because I can't see anything sharp, I'm going to assume motion-blur (shutter-speed too low). The lighting is acceptable, but rather bland; a little more contrast would have helped greatly, and the composition needs to be opened up a little more. It's fine to crop limbs when necessary, but always do it boldly, never at/near/through a joint and NEVER along a lateral axis! The eyes appear rather over-processed.

2. Comments pretty much as per #1; watch the disembodied arm lower RH corner (again, composition/crop too tight), and watch the background elements. The bit of red (chair back?) and the two-tone wall behind are bother rather distracting.

Just my $00.02 worth - your mileage may vary.

~John

Hi all

I'm Tanja , i'm new to photography. But not a beginner. Just looking for some advice and critique of my latest pictures of my friends kids. I love child photography and am looking to enhance my skill.

Thank you.

Can you please explain how you are NEW to photography, but not a beginner? I am curious!

On the images.. darling girls... but all the critique above it 100% totally correct! Very soft..