Choice of camera: beginner

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by magnushasto, Feb 8, 2018.

1. magnushasto

magnushasto TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Im new to photographing and i wonder what camera i should choose as a starting camera. the price has to be around 750$. Im interested in nature photography, and are going to use it in bad weather. I also want a camera that is good to make films.

2. KmH

KmH Helping photographers learn to fish Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    Photographer skill and knowledge are very important for being able to consistently make quality images.
    Like understanding the importance of light direction/quality and how to compensate exposure when lighting conditions are likely to 'fool' a digital camera's light metering function.
    Digital Photography Tutorials

Nature is a pretty broad genre of photography. To cover most aspects of nature photography would require not only a camera but several lenses too, from wide angle for close up shots of flowers to a long telephoto lens to make images of distant animals or small birds.

Considerations for video would include use of an external microphone and having a decent set of tripod legs with a decent video fluid head.

Nikon's D7000 series DSLR cameras would be worth a look as would Canon's equivalent DSLR cameras.

3. espresso2x

espresso2x No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    When you say nature, do you mean flowers and bugs or birds and beasts?

4. ac12

ac12 No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    You need to be much more specific in what you plan to photograph.
    Nature can be 6 inches away or 6 miles away, and everything in between.
    Shoot a buy, or a flower, or a mountain, or a whale, or . . . .

There is no 'weatherproof' camera and lens in your price range.
    You need to use some sort of a rain cover for the gear. Better yet, keep it out of the rain.

• Like Like x 1