CLS vs. Manual Flash for Product Photography

Mystery

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
First off, I am a beginner. So accept my apologies if I am misunderstanding a few things. I have zero experience with CLS or any flash aside from the built-in on my camera. I am setting up a studio to shoot product photos for my own product line. Almost everything is white background and I have had very good (in my opinion) results with continuous lighting. I was running 3 softboxes from Cowboy Studio on a backlit white lexan background. The Cowboy Studio lights fell apart and I returned them. Now, I need to figure out what lights I am going to use. I am shooting on a Nikon D40 right now, but will be upgrading to a D300S. Since the D300S has CLS command built in, I was considering just lighting with speedlights and trying to use CLS features for my flashes. However, I was doing pretty well shooting continuos lights in manual, and I am a little afraid of letting the camera run the show to get good white background shots. Here is an example of what I am shooting.

$PRoduct-Shots0348.jpg

I am also shooting some portrait style photos like these.

$700371361068.side.jpg$Chance_And_Fiona_Valentine.jpg