Contents of a starter SLR kit

GeeTee

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm just starting out in SLR photography, having only really been serious about taking photos since the dawn of the digital age.

I have bought a lovely old Pentax ME Super on eBay, which came with a 50mm f1.7 lens, and I have since aquired a 28mm wide lens, a 70-210mm zoom and a x2 tele converter. I've also picked up some filters (polariser, red, orange and a starburst special effects one).

I know I need a good bag and a flash next but, is there anything else that I should really have before I go out and shoot some landscapes or attempt some portraits? <he says, waiting for some bright spark to suggest getting some 35mm film!!!!>

And can anyone recommend a good budget price flash (probably a bounce one)?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Lens hoods for your lenses.

Vivitar makes decent flashes, and they are usually inexpensive compared to bigger brand names.

For landscapes a tripod and cable release is always nice, comes in handy for other subjects too.

Thanks guys.

Over in the UK at the moment one of our big horse racing festivals is taking place and, in the last hour, I've had a nice little win. I think I'll spend it on a tripod!

Nice...congrats.

When buying a tripod, there are a few directions to go.

Cheap & flimsy but light....sturdy but heavy...strudy & light but really expensive.

Check out Bogen/Manfrotto

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Looks pretty good.

I can't tell if that head has a quick release plate. For a 35mm camera I would not want a tripod head that did not have QR.

Of course you could buy that set, sell the head, and buy another.

GeeTee said:
I know I need a good bag and a flash next but, is there anything else that I should really have before I go out and shoot some landscapes or attempt some portraits?