Continuous and strobe question

jed_rollins

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi guys,

I'd like to get some opinions on lighting here:
I'm a commercial videographer working with Westcott lighting (spiderlites, which are constant). Lately my business has gotten more photography assignments, and I'm wondering if it would be wise to basically double down and build up a strobe kit in addition to the considerable constant setup I already have. My hesitation is that the strobes would be use-less on a video shoot where the constants can be used for either purpose.

Really appreciate any feedback.

J

Hi guys,

I'd like to get some opinions on lighting here:
I'm a commercial videographer working with Westcott lighting (spiderlites, which are constant). Lately my business has gotten more photography assignments, and I'm wondering if it would be wise to basically double down and build up a strobe kit in addition to the considerable constant setup I already have. My hesitation is that the strobes would be use-less on a video shoot where the constants can be used for either purpose.

Really appreciate any feedback.

J

If you're shooting people, strobes are the best way to go. Generally constant lights don't have enough output to maintain a fast enough shutter speed for portraiture. Using flashes helps negate the movement of your subject even if you need to drag the shutter at a slow shutter speed. I'd look at the Adorama flash point series.

Asking someone who doesn't know you or your business for business advice is simply asking for trouble.

Would you save enough time to justify the expense of buying and storing them? They are better for stills as Tyler mentioned but whether or not they are worth the investment is something you are going to have to ask your books.