Copyright Quetsion

Marshall21

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am an independent musician, who hired a photographer to take some images for my websites (myspace, facebook), my promo pic, maybe pic for a CD. Basically pics of me.

I need your advice, because basically after I payed $325 for 2 looks, and he signed an agreement that he will send me a CD of all unedited images plus 6 retouched images, he says he will give me ONLY 6 images and that's it.

He threatened me with copyright law, and said that I am not allowed to use the other images only 6. And he basically sent me 9 low resolution pictures and would not give me anything else.

I wanted to have a variety for my personal use, my music etc. I am not selling pics,
or making money on them.

For me $325 to pay for 9 photographs with low resolution, that if you enlarge for my site, you see pixels, it is very expensive, and I would have not have hired him.

He told me I can use only 6, and only for website and that's it, otherwise he will talk to his lawyer and I will violate the law.

This makes no sense to me, I payed for this photo shoot specifically to use pictures for my site.

Also why he did not state this before the photo shoot? he says that if I want to use the other images I would have to pay $1000 for copyright for each image.
Again, I am not a company, nor a signed artist.
I am so confused. I just wanted to have pics for my music site. or maybe my flyers for show.

I know this is a photographers forum, please help me:)

And thanks everyone from my all heart. I always dealt with amazing photographers, and this is the first time, someone has been very unprofessional to me.

He lied about doing a shoot in a studio, it was in someone's apt, and the hostess, kicked us out within 1st hour of the photoshoot, so we had to rush.

Thank you

Last edited:
I'm confused...