Could use HELPFUL advice regarding packages and FRIENDS AND FAMILY!!!!

suzyhomemaker

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello. I've been doing "professional" photography for about 2 years. I use the "" because I still consider myself new to the game, my equipment is, eh, possibly irrelevant to this post, but just FYI, I use a D40 with a 35mm 1.8 and a 50mm 1.4. I hope to be able to upgrade my body soon, but that is not my reality now. Anyway, I have been offering photo sessions for families and seniors, (mainly). I have had a large handful of paid clients over the past 2 years (which is the only reason I use the term 'professional'), but I have "done" about 30 shoots total. Mostly, family and friends. I have a website, I have a facebook page. What I would NOT like to know, is that I shouldn't even try with my equipment... what anyone tempted to do that could offer is suggestions as to what I might consider purchasing for the future. But that's not what this post is about, that is just my guard up from my intimidation that I have fostered reading previous posts where newbies are ripped to shreds... please don't do that. I'm going to keep trying, going to keep trying.
I currently offer a 1 hr. session of $100. This is just for a session and a cd of 30 edited images. This isn't working for me. Could/would anyone offer me helpful suggestions of what I'm doing wrong here? I considered calling around to every photographer in the area to see what they would do, instead, I joined this forum. For help, for criticism, but in this case, for help.