Criticism, Please!

JenKat

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Here is a photo from a "shoot" for my cousin's senior photos. While we got quite a few good shots, I really like this one.

Since I am still learning, I would love some other people's criticism on composition and editing especially... I used Lightroom 3 for this.

I was happy with the results. The colors turned out very well I think.

Thanks!

148658_166647216700544_100000657991006_405955_6547833_n-3.jpg

The desaturated look is a matter of taste. If you and the her like that's fine. The main points I see for improvement here are in the exposure; you have blown highlights in her hair and deep shadow around her right eye. A reflector or fill-flash would have reduced the overall dynamic range and given some detail to the right side of her face.

The desaturated look is a matter of taste. If you and the her like that's fine. The main points I see for improvement here are in the exposure; you have blown highlights in her hair and deep shadow around her right eye. A reflector or fill-flash would have reduced the overall dynamic range and given some detail to the right side of her face.

The color editing was for fun on my part. The original I left in natural colors, and brought out the color just a little bit. I did this one to get an artistic affect.

I know the exposure's not right. The photos were taken on a very bright day, and I had not yet bought a reflector...

I'm so looking forward to getting my first dslr, and having alot more flexibility with settings. :)

:thumbup:

I prefer bright vivid colors myself.

The biggest problem with this shot is that the model is competing with the tree !!!
The tree was the first thing my eye went to.

The tonality looks fake ... especially the dodging of the right (dark) side of face.
I tend to prefer photographs that look natural (like in real life).