Did I screw up this roll of 120mm?

georgeisabamf

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I have been shooting 120mm film for about 6 months or so now, and it has completely changed my style and perspective on photography (for the better!) Well yesterday I bought 2 new box cameras and decided to try them out today. I shot a roll of 120mm Fujicolor in one of my new cameras called a Ansco Shur Shot. After I was done shooting, when I went to wind the roll completely, I felt a lot of resistance. I kept winding anyhow, and my film ended up looking funny once I had removed it. Here is a quick picture I took of what the film looks like, and why I am worried:

20gib7o.jpg

As you can see, the film on the right is fatter and not as tightly rolled. That film was what came out of my Shur Shot. When I took the film out, a small part of the film actually went over the spool, and I had to push it back down to the center. But I am worried that light has now leaked in through the film since it isn't tightly rolled.

Has anyone ever had this problem? If so, did it develop properly? I'm not scared of minor light leaks as I shoot a lot of "lomo" style things. So essentially piss poor quality is a plus to me. But I don't want to find out that they are ruined and there is nothing in the roll due to this. I pay 20+ bucks per roll to get my 120mm film developed, and I'd hate to the waste the money.

So basically, do you think the roll is still worth getting developed? or is it a lost cause?

You won't know until you develop it. Do you develop your own or send it out? Its really easy to develop your own film, its the printing that takes finesse IMO. At least develop the film into a negative to see if you have good density and if there were any leaks.

EDIT: Sorry, I see it was color film and that is harder to develop yourself. BUT... get it developed anyway.