Do Clients Always Want More?

D-B-J

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So, I recently did a photoshoot for two of my friends. Paid (not excessively, but I'm still a newb), and said they could expect 15-20+ images from an hour or so of shooting. I delivered 19, and she insists that there are more good ones etc. and she wants to come look at all the images. Now, I've had this issue almost every time I shoot. I deliver what I think are the best (and some that aren't technically perfect but I know the client will love), and yet they ALWAYS want more. Am I being too selective? Or are they being greedy? I've had lengthly debates with my parents about this topic, and am interested as to what others think. Is it irrational to shoot 275 and deliver 19? I don't know if it's because I'm still so new to portraiture or something else, but I get about 10 GOOD images for every 100 I take. Granted, we were laughing and goofing around a bunch, so a fair amount are silly/unposed images, but still. Maybe I just need to up my keeper percentage?

Cheers!
Jake

It's a matter of subjectivity. What you may chuck for trash, they may see as treasure, so why not let them look at it....unless your keep rate is like 1%.

A few thoughts:

1) Sign a contract - agree how many photos will be delivered within the contract. Your keeper rate basically is always important to increase, but so long as your keeper rate (good keepers) is equal to what you are to deliver within the time frame you are doing well. By all means work on improving it, just don't get fixated upon it beyond estimating shots per hour or so (remembering that new or different situations are going to lower your keeper rate as will imperfect conditions).