Do you always use software?

Goldcoin79

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to photography and have been learning lots on this forum and other sites. One thing I have picked up on is that it seems when a photographer takes a picture, even though it may be a great picture they still seem to use some sort of software to make adjustments to the picture. Do most people use software to adjust all there pictures in some way or do you ever just take a picture and make no adjustments to it?

I (and I'm sure all serious photographers) make at least some adjustments to our images. It could be something as simple as leveling the image or cropping for print, but even the most skilled shooter can't produce a perfect image out of the camera every time.

A lot of people let the camera do most of the work.

The JPEG photo file type is edited in the camera. JPEG was designed to be a finished, ready-to-print file type.

The image sensor records either 12-bit depth (4096) or 14-bit (16,384) depth image data files, which are Raw file type image data files that have to be converted to something we humans can see.

When a camera is set to JPEG, that conversion is done right in the camera. First the JPEG conversion software throws out about 80% of the color information the camera developed, so the image file only has an 8-bit (256) color depth.
Then the cameras image processing software does a number of adjustments (edits) - sharpening, contrast, saturation. Most cameras have some very crude controls that allow the photographer to select how much, or how little, those in-the-camera adjustments are.
Lastly JPEG locks the image pixels into Minimum Coded Units (MCU's) that are 8x8 pixel, 8x16 pixel, or 16x16 pixel blocks.
With JPEG bit depth reduced to just 8-bits (256), and the conversion to MCUs, JPEGs have little, if any, editing headroom left once the conversion to JPEG has been done.