Eliminating Reflections on Rounded Product Surfaces

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by TheRisingArcher, Jul 20, 2017.

1. TheRisingArcher

TheRisingArcher TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hi. I'm a product photography newb. I have a Canon EOS Rebel with an 18-55mm kit lens, a super white paper backdrop, a set of softbox lights with diffusers, and a boomstand. I have a a couple of DIY diffusers and some tabletop lights, too.

Things are going pretty well. I've overcome a lot of beginner mistakes to crank out some nice photos, considering my equipment and experience. One thing I haven't been able to solve yet is the reflection of my softbox lights on my target. For flat surfaces, this is easier. I can position my lights such that these reflections are not picked up in the shot.

However, for rounded surfaces things get complicated. I've attached photo that suffers from the textbook issue I'm talking about.

flamenco-back.jpg

This is the back of a guitar. The rounded neck is clearly reflecting the light shining upon it. I see this effect in many professionally photographed guitars. Still, I'm not a fan.

Can anyone offer a few pointers as to how I can reduce or eliminate these from my shots? Thanks.

2. photo1x1.com

photo1x1.com TPF Supporters Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hi and welcome to the forum.
    These kind of reflections are actually not possible to avoid during shooting, because reflective curved surface does reflect any light that you use for lighting your subject.
    Things you could do i:
    1. Photoshop - I´m afraid that is the most common option