Equipment Opinions - Canon

alycat06

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi!

I've been a photographer for about 5 years and am at the point where I've maxed out the level that my T2i can provide. It's been a great and I still love it, but I want to keep learning and improving and I feel like a body is the next step I have to make.
I'm doing photography as a side job mostly because I get so many requests for it and I have trouble saying no. I do charge, so I make money at it, but not enough to make a living.

My site: www.personalytiesphotography.com

I do mostly portrait, senior, theatre (both stage and headshots for actors) and family photography. I don't do weddings, stress me out too much.

Here's what I currently have:
Body
-Canon T2i w/ battery grip
Lenses
-50mm 1.8
-Tamron AF 28-75mm 2.8 (just got a couple weeks ago)
-75-250mm 4
-18-55mm 4
Lighting
-5-in-one reflector
-2 white umbrellas w/ stands
-lights
-backdrops
-Cheap flash
-Remote flash release (haven't tried yet)

I'd love opinions on what to get. I really think the Canon 5D Mark III is what I'm wanting to upgrade to, but the cost is high so I want to make sure I'm getting the right one. I'm also needing some flash opinions (I have a cheap flash that is okay, but honestly never use a flash really). I'm looking for an 85mm 1.8 lens currently, but I ended up getting the Tamron AF 28-75mm 2.8 for a realllllly good price so I'm still looking/saving. Any advice on lighting stuff (I have 2 backgrounds and 2 lights w/ umbrellas and a 5-in-one reflector) I should have, lenses, etc would be greatly appreciated. I normally take natural light photos - I've never had luck with indoor because I just don't have the set-up for it.

Have you considered buying used? You can get a 5DIII used for $1800, assuming you can find one. ;)

Wouldnt be a 5D2 be almost as good a camera as the 5D3 ? Google says its close to 1000$ used now.

(Mind, I'm no Canonist, but thats what I heard)